Much Ado About Nothing

In honor of Throwback Thursday, I figured I’d share one of my favorite Shakespearean quotes. (For those of you wondering how Shakespeare ties into Throwback Thursday, I read the play referenced in this post’s title a few years ago.)

LEONATO: Well, niece, I hope to see you one day fitted with a husband.

BEATRICE: Not till God make men of some other metal than earth. Would it not grieve a woman to be overmastered with a piece of valiant dust? To make an account of her life to a clod of wayward marl? No, uncle, I’ll none. Adam’s sons are my brethren, and truly I hold it a sin to match in my kindred.

(The bit about “valiant dust” just cracks me up. 😛 )

Leave a Reply

