Mini-Vacation to Key West

This past Saturday, I went to Key West with my parents, sister, grandparents, aunt, and uncle. It was an awesome trip, and I wanted to share some of the highlights with you all. Without further ado, here’s my trip to Key West in a nutshell:

Our first stop was to Blue Heaven for some breakfast. The restaurant’s history is truly quite colorful and fascinating. Throughout the years, it has purportedly hosted cock fights, no dearth of gambling, and boxing matches refereed by none other than Ernest Hemingway. Yes, you read correctly. Ernest Hemingway lived in Key West for some time. His house still stands and can be toured; wedding receptions are held there, too. Here’s something interesting that I learned: while residing in Key West, Ernest Hemingway was gifted a six-toed cat which he dubbed Snow White. Many of Snow White’s descendants presently reside in the Hemingway house, and a lot of them are also six-toed.

blue-heaven
Public domain image

After leaving Blue Heaven, we hopped into a taxi and made our way to The Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory. Over fifty species of butterflies are contained in the conservatory. Joining them are several koi fish, turtles, butterfly-friendly birds, and a pair of flamingos.

IMG_0806photo 1IMG_0786 IMG_0787 IMG_0793 IMG_0795 IMG_0797

IMG_0799
Can you spot the bird in this pic?

Upon bidding the conservatory farewell, my family and I took to strolling down a few nearby roads. We passed by the famous Southernmost Point Buoy. The line to take a photo with it was extremely long, so we opted to simply appreciate it from afar. I pulled the photo displayed below from the internet–so as to show you all what the buoy looks like.

carouselimage_16

A few yards from the buoy, we noted the following inscribed into the sidewalk. (I realize that a shadow obscures part of the inscription. Hence, please see below the picture for the text.)

IMG_0802

Ninety Miles
Oh, Havana
Coffee-colored dreams of rainy streets
Boys playing with balls
La Playa Santa Maria
If only I could get to you
And your people could come to me

JENNIFER GRAFIADA

Speaking of Cuba–or writing of it, to be more accurate–there’s currently talk of initiating a ferry service to shuttle people to and from the island for day trips. Apparently, it would only take a few hours to reach Cuba from Key West. As a Cuban-American, I think that this sounds like a really interesting idea! (Did you know that Key West is closer to Cuba than it is to Florida’s mainland?)

Moving on…

Walking around made us work up quite a thirst. To say that it was hot would be an understatement. The forecast called for weather in the upper 80s with a “feels like” of over 105. My family and I were looking like this:

tumblr_inline_nf0ljnfqme1rmaq1f

As soon as we cooled down via a combination of coconut water, bottled water, and ice cream, we boarded a trolley and took a tour of Key West. Here’s a picture of one of the streets:

IMG_0807

Here I am goofing around near one of the trolley’s stops:

photo 2

My family and I ended the day by visiting Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville and enjoying a nice dinner together. Here’s another interesting fact: the Margaritaville in Key West is the location of the original Margaritaville. 😀

In keeping with how I closed my trip to Key West, I leave you guys with the following song. 😉

Leave a Reply

